Most folks around here keep their farm equipment out in the field. There is an argument to be made that properly used on the farm it will wear out before it rusts out – that only hay balers really need to be covered. I’m not of that school myself – I like my equipment to be covered and protected. Will save a lot on maintenance, and will extend its life in my view.

I’ve been planning an equipment shed from the beginning, and as I’ve been buying a bunch of equipment for the farm, Sticks and Stones Construction had the time, and we had the sawmill out, we decided to build the shed while Streamline was cutting the timberframe.

Since it was just an equipment shed, I did the basic design, and Bruce, the owner of Sticks and Stones, filled it out.

We had a bunch of side lumber that came from making the white pine timberframe pieces, which we sawed into 1″ by random width to be used for the flooring and siding and we sawed some of the “worst first” culled red oak and poplar for the rafters and purlins. Normally I would have used locust for the posts, but for some reason all the locust on Crooked River Farm grows very poorly and is mostly hollow, so we used pressure treated pine for the posts. But everything else was logged and sawn on the farm. It never even left.

Equipment Shed

Equipment Shed

We’ll be starting on raising the timberframe garage later this week, so it looks like the equipment shed will be “fill” work in between work on the garage, and soon the house. But should be done in the next few months.

p2240167

The tractor, and a boat I own with a couple of good friends will be stored in the middle section – all the tractor attachments, such as the plow, disc harrow, sickle-bar mower, bush-hog, scraper blade, and soon hay rake and baler, will be stored under the wings. Upstairs, we’ll be able to store hay for sale, or whatever else we need to use it for.